Tuesday, November 22, 2016

Ashutosh Gowariker at Film Festival in Brisbane, Australia

Ashutosh Gowariker will inaugurate and chair the jury of the Indian International Film Festival of Queensland (IIFFOQ) 2016 in Brisbane, Australia. The festival which began on 16th November, concludes on 20th November, with the closing ceremony of the festival announcing the winners. Ventilator, the Marathi film produced by Priyanka Chopra’s Purple Pebble Pictures in which Ashutosh has received rave reviews for his performance as an actor was the Opening Film of the festival and Mohenjo Daro, which Gowariker directed, will be the Closing Film.  
Chayan Sarkar, Founder and Artistic Director of the IIFFOQ which is Australia’s first independent competitive Indian film festival to encourage creative industry links between Australia and India says, “This festival will usher in new opportunities and directions for Indian film- makers and the Indian film industry. It will further foster new talent, co-productions and fresh dimensions in the aesthetics of storytelling.” 
The Indian International Film Festival of Queensland is supported by Lord Mayor of Brisbane, Mr. Graham Quirk, who attended the Opening Night and says “Brisbane has always shared a unique and wonderful connection with our city's Indian community in a number of ways. I trust your festival will further enhance the ties we have with the people of India and create cultural and economic partnerships in the near future." 
In addition to Ventilator and Mohenjo DaroLagaan and Swades will also be screened as part of Gowariker’s retrospective that highlights this year’s festival. 
Ashutosh says, “It is an honour for me to be present at my retrospective in IIFFOQ, Australia. It is also a great opportunity for showcasing Marathi Cinema with the screening of Ventilator for Australian audiences. I am really happy to be here.”

Balasaheb made the common man into superman: Sanjay Raut

On the eve of Shiv Sena Foundation Day, 52 years after the party was founded by Sena Supremo Balasaheb Thackeray,  MP Sanjay Raut, Nawa...